Find beauty in the broken

Image

New Art Blog

In the past three years I’ve put considerable time into growing and developing my business, Simply Beautiful Remodeling, LLC. It’s going quite well, and I’m pleased that much of our work comes from referrals and repeat customers. If you happen to live in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area and are in need of design-build remodeling services for your home or small business, please consider contacting us.

Painting of Mill City MuseumAfter a 2 1/2-year hiatus from painting I started again in earnest this past fall. One of the paintings I’ve finished is of the old part of the Mill City Museum in Minneapolis. My wife and children have been there many times and always comment on how wonderful it is. I’ve never actually visited Mill City, although I’ve walked along the boardwalk where my reference picture was taken.

From the perspective of my artwork, painting buildings can be somewhat difficult. My paintings often straddle the line between representational images and organic cubism, meaning there can be elements of both what you see and geometric shapes. The “ruins” of Mill City Museum was particularly strange to paint in my style- few recognizable shapes, as well as lots of raw geometry and lines. I worked on the painting on and off for over 3 years, and never once liked what I’d painted on it until 10 minutes before I finished it. What can I say, I’m critical of my work 😀 It’s now one of my favorites.

 

Leave a comment